Middle TN Architects Honored for Quality Design

Middle TN Architects Honored for Quality Design

AIA Middle TN releases annual Design Awards winners.



NASHVILLE, TN – AIA Middle Tennessee, A Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announces the winners of the 2021 Design Awards to honor exceptional work on the behalf of the architecture profession and bring awareness to the remarkable work that architects are doing in our communities.

The 2021 AIA Middle Tennessee Design Awards recognizes the following architecture firms:

Honor Award:
– Hastings Architecture for Christ Presbyterian Academy Fine Arts Center
– Price Harrison Architect for Glass Pavilion

Merit Award:
– Centric Architecture for Woodmont Christian Church
– Corgan, Fentress Architects, and Moody Nolan for BNA Vision – Terminal and Landside Area Planning
– EOA Architects and HGA for Tennessee State Museum
– Hastings Architecture for Fourth Capital
– Hastings Architecture and David M. Schwarz Architects for Vanderbilt University Nicholas S. Zeppos College and West End Tower
– Smith Gee Studio for 83 Freight
– Smith Gee Studio for Werthan Warehouse

Citation Award:
– Bauer Askew Architecture for West Meade Residence
– EOA Architects for Bento Chestnut Hill
– ESa for Monument Health – Rapid City Hospital
– ESa for The Lodge at Fall Creek Falls
– Gresham Smith for Haymarket Medical Center
– Manuel Zeitlin Architects for KIPP Antioch College Prep
– Moody Nolan and Thompson & Litton for East Tennessee State University D.P. Culp Student Center

A People’s Choice Award is also selected for recognition and is now open for voting! View photos of all projects submitted for the 2021 Design Awards and vote for your favorite here. Voting ends January 17th, 2022.

A jury of AIA Westchester Hudson Valley members judged the entries. Jury members were Ray Beller, FAIA of Gallin Beeler Design Studio, Julie Evans, AIA of Julie Evans Architecture and Design, and JC Calderon, AIA of Calderon Architecture & Design Studio P.C.

Projects are entered under six categories: small, large, healthcare design, interiors, residential, or unbuilt. The jury was encouraged to recognize and acknowledge exceptional design in the categories of Citation, Merit, and Honor, with Honor being the highest award

The AIA Middle TN Committee on Design was led by Nick Dryden, AIA of Dryden Architecture, Lee Davis, AIA of ESa, Amanda Shadowens, AIA of Sinz Shadowens Architecture, and Steve Powell, AIA of Powell Architecture and Building Studio.


AIA Middle Tennessee is the largest of the local chapters of the American Institute of Architects in Tennessee. It comprises over 850 architects, architectural associates on track for licensure, and allied industry members located in a 35-county region in Middle Tennessee. The mission of AIA Middle Tennessee is to serve and support our members and advance the profession of architecture.

More About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state, and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.